Overview
The EU 'open' category covers most leisure drone flying and low-risk commercial work. It has three subcategories: A1 (flying over people, but not over assemblies of people), A2 (flying close to people) and A3 (flying far from people). Which training a remote pilot needs depends on the drone and the subcategory.
This page covers the two training routes in the open category. The A1/A3 route ends with an online theoretical exam. The A2 route adds a further exam. Training and exams are delivered through National Aviation Authorities (NAAs), not by EASA directly. A certificate from one EASA Member State is accepted across all of them, and you can train and take the exams in the Member State of your choice.
Important
EASA reports that some websites sell fake training certificates. Use only training and exam providers listed on a National Aviation Authority website.
More international driving, citizenship and licence tests
International · 1 driving, citizenship and licence tests
Who needs which training
The requirement depends on the drone's class label (C0 to C4), or on whether it is privately built or was placed on the market before 1 January 2024. The table summarises EASA's rules applying since 1 January 2024.
| Drone | Subcategory | Remote pilot competence |
|---|---|---|
| Privately built, or sold before 2024, under 250 g | A1 (A3 also allowed) | No training required |
| C0, under 250 g | A1 (A3 also allowed) | Read the user manual |
| C1, under 900 g | A1 (A3 also allowed) | Manual plus A1/A3 online training and exam |
| C2, under 4 kg | A2 (A3 also allowed) | Manual plus A2 certificate of competency |
| C3, under 25 kg | A3 | Manual plus A1/A3 online training and exam |
| C4, under 25 kg | A3 | Manual plus A1/A3 online training and exam |
| Privately built, or sold before 2024, under 25 kg | A3 | A1/A3 online training and exam |
The minimum remote pilot age is 16 for most of these. A Member State may lower it to 12 within its own territory. A C0 drone that is a toy has no minimum age, and neither does a drone under 250 g that is privately built or sold before 2024.
Levels or stages
A1/A3 online training and exam
You complete the online training course and pass the online theoretical exam. You then hold a proof of completion for online training for the A1/A3 open subcategories. This is the route for C1, C3, C4 and older or privately built drones over 250 g.
A2 certificate of competency
The A2 route builds on the A1/A3 proof of completion. You also:
Hold the A1/A3 proof of completion.
Carry out practical self-training and declare it.
Pass an additional theoretical exam, either at the NAA or proctored online.
The result is a remote pilot certificate of competency for the A2 subcategory. This is needed for C2 drones. An NAA may designate another entity to run the online training, the online exam or the A2 exam.
Marking and results
The number of questions, the time allowed and the pass mark are set through the NAA or its designated provider and were not stated on the EASA pages reviewed. Check these with the provider you use.
Validity and renewal
For the open category, the NAA issues the certificate. EASA says a remote pilot competency certificate is valid for 5 years. If you revalidate before it expires, you may attend a seminar given by the NAA or an entity it recognises. Otherwise you must show your competencies again.
Registration and other rules
Training is separate from registering as a drone operator. EASA says operators of drones in classes C1 to C4 must register, while C0 and light privately built drones need registration only if there is a camera or sensor on board and the drone is not a toy. Registration is valid for a period set by your NAA, after which you renew it. Drones in the open category, with limited exceptions, must also carry a remote identification system. Class-labelled drones (C0 to C4) must be flown below 120 m above ground level.
Fees
Fees were not stated on the EASA pages reviewed. Check the NAA or provider's page for the price in your country.
FAQs
Do I need a certificate for a drone under 250 g?
Not for a privately built drone, or one placed on the market before 2024, under 250 g. A C0 drone only requires you to read the user manual. EASA still recommends doing the A1/A3 online training.
Is my certificate valid in other EU countries?
Yes. EASA states that training done in one Member State is recognised in all others.